Machine Vision

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Error 0x80040217 The error code passed into imgShowError is unknown

Solved!
Go to solution

We manufacture a USB DirectShow camera and supporting application software.  Some of our customers would like to use the camera directly in LabVIEW via IMAQdx.  But we get this error when trying to capture frames from the camera using NI MAX 5.5.0f0 on a Windows 7 64-bit computer.

In doing some research this error seems to indicate a problem finding an appropriate filter.Inparticular that the image cannot be reb\ndered.  Being a DirectShow novice I am not sure what I am saying or where to look for a solution.

The reason I am posting here is that the same camera works fine using NI MAX running under Windows XP SP3. Windows XP also shows the camera and a preview in Windows Explorer. Windows 7 has no such listing or preview. could there be a filter available in Windows XP that is now missing in Windows 7?

Any help or ideas would be greatly appreciated!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(13,371 Views)

You could verify that your installer properly installs/registers all the proper files for both 32 and 64-bit operation when run on a 64-bit system. If you only install 64-bit components then it will not work in 32-bit applications such as MAX. You could see if this might be your issue by testing operation in 64-bit LabVIEW.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(13,368 Views)

Thank you for your response.  

There are no drivers installed.  DirectShow cameras are supported by the MS driver "usbvideo.sys"

The camera works fine with our application software on all operating systems.

The problem we are having is with IMAQdx on 64-bit Windows 7.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(13,356 Views)

Hi Megabite, 

IMAQdx calls into DirectShow to communicate with compliant cameras. As long as the camera is fully compliant with DirectShow there is no reason it should not work under all operating systems.