Machine Vision

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

3D laser scanner save data output

Dear all

I am a newbie in 3D laser Scanner. We have built a 3D laser Scanner system like this link :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qmfwPXYO5vM

At the momnet, we have obtained 3D image of object, and we also have three array of information of this 3D object. However, I do not know how to save these data. We wanna have *.COP file ( cloud of point) to use in 3D Mechine Vision Library ( a product of Imaginglab: http://www.imaginglab.it/eng/3D-MVL_DataSheet.php )

Could you have any suggestions for me?

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(5,171 Views)

Duplicate post. Please keep it all in one place.

Message 2 of 9
(5,161 Views)

So sorry, I am trying to delete one

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(5,157 Views)

If your data is in a two dimensional array, or if it is encoded as an image (PNG,JPG,BMP), you can easily convert it into an intermediate format .XYZ

This format can then be converted into a .COP in software like MeshLab

Say you have a 10x10 array of U16 Values (0 to 65525)

The X and Y array indexes represent units of measure in your scan X,Y position, and the content represents the height information.

All you need are a nested loop, and some multipliers to convert X,Y,Z to floats, or doubles.

So lets say that the scan area size was actually 100mm x 100mm x 100mm (asuming the tallest Z value was 100mm)

The start of the file result would look like this

0.0 0.0 0.0

0.0 10.0 0.0

0.0 20.0 0.0

0.0 30.0 0.0

0.0 40.0 0.0

0.0 50.0 0.0

0.0 60.0 0.0

0.0 70.0 0.0

0.0 80.0 0.0

0.0 90.0 0.0

Note that .XYZ files are space delimited with a line feed (\n) at the end of each line.

Machine Vision, Robotics, Embedded Systems, Surveillance

www.movimed.com - Custom Imaging Solutions
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 9
(5,110 Views)

Dear Mr. Movi John

Thank for your comment