From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Lookout

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

datatable connection

Solved!
Go to solution

I am fairly new with LookOut so be patient.  What is the correct way to connect a datatable to a modbus?  I've come accross severals examples which showing totally opposite way to each other.  For example, one server process has a connection like this:  Datatable.member = modbus.member (such as RTU12Tbl.PMP1_Stat = RTU12.PMP1_Stat), where another shows Modbus.member = Datatable.member (RTU12.PMP1_Stat = RTU12Tbl.PMP1_Stat).  I am totally confused. 

There is another one looks very weird to me.  It has two identical Datatables.  One on server process, and the other on client process.  Should we have only one Datatable resides on server side instead of two?

Frank Nguyen
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(7,941 Views)

It is using Aliases for data members. 

RTU12.PMP1_Stat could be (for example) RTU12.40001

RTU12Tabl.PMP1_Stat could be RTU12Tbl.A2

Help a little?

Mike

Mike Crabtree - Lead Developer
Destek of Nevada, Inc. / Digital Telemetry Systems, Inc.
(866) 964-6948 / (760) 247-9512
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(7,919 Views)

May I did not explain it correctly.  When I select edit connection for a table, and select a writable member on the box (for example Pump_CMD), this is what I see AmmoniaTbl.Pump_CMD = ..\RTUs\RTU216.Pump_CMD.  However, it's another way around in some of connections.  For example if I go to RTU216 and select edit connections, I would see some thing like this RTU216.Pump_Num = ..\AmmoniaTbl\Pump_Num.