London LabVIEW User Group

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Small and cheap platform for NI LabVIEW

Introduction

Hi there,

My name is Kevin Ross and I am a System Engineer for Austin Consultants. Over the last few months I have been working on a project for our sister company Green Running, which is an energy monitoring and reporting company.

The project I have been working on is to find a small, cheap platform for National Instruments (NI) LabVIEW. In this blog, I explore some options that will hopefully give you some insight into what is available at the moment.

LabVIEW Requirements

First things first, understanding what the minimum requirements are to run NI LabVIEW. You can find out more about this on the National Instruments website.

NI LabVIEW has been designed to run on the three main Operating Systems (OS), Windows, Mac OS X, and Linux. Depending on how you want to use LabVIEW will depend on the requirements. If you wish to use the development environment to develop code, then you require more from your OS compared to if you just want to install the run-time engine and run your built LabVIEW application.

OK, so we know LabVIEW will work on the three big OS’s, now we need to pick one. Windows and Mac OS X have licensing costs associated with them, so that rules them out as we want to keep the cost down. We are then left with Linux which is an open source language (open source meaning free).

Link: What Linux Distributions Do National Instruments Driver and Software Support?

Linux LogoLinux