LabWindows/CVI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

what should be in Resource Descriptor

I am new to LabWindows/CVI, so please forgive my ignorance, but I've been struggling for several days with the very basics of creating an IVI Specific Driver, using the IVI Instrument Driver Wizard tool, and getting nowhere.

I am trying to create the most simple Serial IVI driver I can, to see if I can get some communication flow from a test app created with CVI on a PC to a new device, which is a SocKit evaluation board with an SoC and some on-board I/O interfaces.  The new instrument has a serial port and an Ethernet port... ultimately I'd like a driver that can connect to either.

I'm using the IVI Instrument Driver Wizard to create the serial driver.... using CVI 13.0.

When I get to the 'Test' page of the Driver Wizard, it asks for a Resource Descriptor, and provides the default of "ASRL1::INSTR". 

My question is where am I supposed to get this descriptor?

My device is connected to COM4 (which is a USB Serial Port with an FTDI driver installed to convert USB to serial...).    I know that communication on this port from the PC to the device works, because I can set up a putty terminal connection and connect to a linux 'sh' program running on the board.

Currently I just want to test this driver to see if the device sees any 'receive' data on its serial port ... so I've told the driver that I want it to send an Identification Query as part of the Initialization.

If I keep the default Resource Descriptor of ASRL1::INSTR, and select 'Run Tests...', I'm fairly sure that no communication is going across COM4... I dont' see any Rx LEDs light up on the device.   But the tests act like they're trying to communicate with something, and eventually return with the following:

Serial Port Configuration
...Passed
VISA Initialization
Return Code : 0x0 (VI_SUCCESS: No error)

ID Query
Return Code : 0xBFFF0015 (VI_ERROR_TMO: A timeout occurred)