LabWindows/CVI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

protecting static locals in multi-threaded applications

Hi, I am new to multi-threading and have a few questions.

I have read the NI info on multi-threading but need some clarity on static locals. Am I right in saying that instances of the same function in different threads that use static locals actually access the same memory location? Is this why they need protecting?

Also, should I use the individual thread-safe variable functions when protecting statics, rather than the NI macros as these only seem to work at global scope.

Finally, is it true that statics in multi-thread apps are probably of very limited use and static local type functionality would be better achieved using thread local variables instead?

Thanks

Jamie Fraser
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,806 Views)
The problem with variable shared by different Thread is in fact how the Compiler optimise the code.
You can have a situation where the variable is compiled in such a way that the code will access it via the cache, instead of accessing it thought its RAM location, and therefore one instance will have a totally different value from another one...

To avoid this situation there is a "C" and "C++" keyword which tells the compiler to not optimise the location of the variable. This keyword is "volatile".

In other word, whenever a variable (int, double, struct, static,....) must be accessed from more than one thread, add the volatile keyword to its declaration.

examples:
typedef struct
{
int val1;
int val2;
}myStruct_DEF;

volatile int myShar
edValue;
volatile myStruct_DEF mysharedStruct;

Note 1:
when you declare a structure volatile, all its members are automatically set to volatile.

Note 2:
You might get some casting error while accessing some volatile variable, in this case add a cast of the original type:
Example:
volatile int mySharedValue;
int MyshareIntValue;
MyshareIntValue=(int)mySharedValue;