From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabWindows/CVI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

problems moving from cvi 5.5 to 2015

I am new to labWindows/cvi and have been tasked to move existing code from Windows XP (using labWindows/cvi 5.5.1) to Windows 10 (using cvi 2015). I have run into several problems including FILE pointers not passing correctly, for example with the function:

short get_file_line (char *line_ptr, FILE *file_ptr)  // a function to read txt file line by line

the dereferenced value of file_ptr changes after passing the pointer to the function,  and the function fails to read a text file. However, by adding a third argument to the function and passing a dummy variable as in;

short get_file_line(char *line_ptr, FILE *file_ptr, long dummy) // a new function to read a txt file line by line

the deref value of file_ptr before and after passing  to the function stays the same and the function works as intended. Could this be a compiler issue?

Additionally, panel functionality is not working. callback functions are running (I can put printf statements in to check) but other functionality inside the callback is not. As far as I can tell (and I’m new) panel functions in the 5.5 code are the same as 2015, but I know it is a huge leap from 5.5 to 2015.

Any guidance or suggestions on where to look would be appreciated.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,744 Views)

Hello,