LabWindows/CVI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

deploy labwindows code, what version is required?

Solved!
Go to solution

I want to develop code and to be able to deploy it to another XP or Win7 PC. What version of LW/CVI is required to do that? Can I deploy using the minimum cost version of LW/CVI?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(3,529 Views)

CVI source code can be moved from one machine to another, but to be able to execute it the two machines must share the same set of libraries and accessory software. If you use only the built-in libraries you can simply move the whole project to the other machine. On the other hand, if you are using additional software (NI or third-party software or libraries) you must install them on the second machine as well. Regarding actual release of CVI, if you plan to move the code between the two machines, you should have the same release of CVI on both. I have no experience on the possibility to have base version on one machine and full version on the other.

Now, depending on the reason you have to move the code, there may be alternative solutions like debug license or remote debugging.

Proud to use LW/CVI from 3.1 on.

My contributions to the Developer Community
(3,527 Views)

Ugh, that's not so good, having to install CVI on both. R U sure? I thought I should be able to simply install a loader on the 2nd machine.

What I was most concerned about is if I can use the base CVI to develop the code and then to deploy it on the 2nd machine. I don't want to have to put out $2500 or more for the more complete CVI version.

I found this regarding distributing CVI code

http://www.ni.com/white-paper/5987/en

but I don't know if it is saying that I have to purchase the "way" expensive full CVI development system.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(3,524 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author QuerulousJohn

Hi QuerulousJohn,