cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

INI file with Multibyte characters for languages question

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am doing research on multiple language support in our CVI programs.
I am new to multibyte programming, as I have always coded in English until now.

I have found the Interface Localizer and have toyed around with translating my GUI controls. That works ok, except on the title bar which displays in some code other than the language I am translating. But this will not work for popup messages or dynamic displays.

I have read a few of the white papers. I am not too worried about Run Time messages, mostly I am worried about program specific prompting and the GUI.

I have seen many topics suggesting using an external INI file to translate specific messages in my program. So I have tried creating an ini file that uses Unicode and a chinese character.
When I call Ini_NumberOfSections using this INI file, my software returns a count of 0 sections when there is, in fact, 1 section. This occurs if I format my INI file in any format other than ANSI, such as Unicode.

So my question is simple: How do I read an INI file, and specifically the tag, using multibyte characters in Unicode?

Is it a setting? Or do I need to write my own INI read and parsing function?

Thank you very much.

Veni Vidi Duci
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(5,296 Views)

Hi DB_IQ,

I have been searching a bit regarding your questions and I was able to find some information that I thought might be useful for you (in case you have not seen it already) the first one is the following Community post that actually talks about an alternate method on how could you manage ini files from  LabWindows/CVI. Also I found out the Knowledge Base article Using LabWindows™/CVI Localization Utility with Single/Multiple Byte Languages which talks about the method to use the Localization Utility and translate the menu into a single byte font language.