cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Default qualifier for 'Generate Function Tree'

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

since this is my first attempt to use the CVI feature for creating a function panel from an include file I am facing a very basic issue...

My problem is that in the 'Generate Function Tree' popup I need to specify a default qualifier. So far, however, I am not using any default qualifier, because a) I did not need them and b) I provide both 32 bit and 64 bit versions of the software. As I understand it, I would have to choose either __stdcall for 32 bit or __fastcall for 64 bit. In other words, a function panel will either work for 32 bit or for 64 bit programs? I guess this is a misunderstanding Smiley Wink

By the way, the tutorial (from 2014?) should be updated to reflect the actual popup panel of CVI2013...

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(5,060 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Wolfgang

You should be able to use __stdcall in your code, regardless of bitness. When you build a 64-bit version of your code, that qualifier is ignored (it will use fastcall instead), but its presence is harmless.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(5,010 Views)

Thanks Smiley Wink

...but why is it necessary to specify a qualifier at all? Function panels will only be used by CVI... I understand that for a DLL this information is required because 'everyone' can call it and hence the calling convention needs to be specified.

You see, lot's of room for learning Smiley Happy

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(4,993 Views)

The reason I was asking is that "The default qualifier field in the Generate Function Tree dialog must be consistent with the default qualifier used in the source header file."

Because so far I did not define any calling convention in my include files (relying on the default settings) no function tree will be generated Smiley Sad