LabWindows/CVI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Communicating through 1-Wire

Hi.  I'm new to 1-Wire, and not totally familiar with CVI/LabWindows.  I am using LabWindows 7.0, and I want to communicate with the DS1920 device (http://www.hobby-boards.com) through the DS1982 serial device.  I have downloaded the iButton SDK (http://www.maxim-ic.com/products/ibutton/software/1wire/wirekit.cfm), and have also installed the OneWireAPI.NET_Setup.msi application program. 

In short, I've downloaded various utilities, and I have example programs that I've found on these websites, but I simply want to be able to compile an example program with LabWindows/CVI. 

I don't know much about working with drivers through LabWindows, but if I can simply get some kind of session with the DS1920 device (i.e. communicate with it in some fashion), then I can progress much more easily.  Currently, if I try to run any example programs that I've found on the websites for the 1-Wire product, I get many linking errors.

Please provide me with basic instructions on how to set up some kind of working code to communicate through these devices through LabWindows.

Thanks.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(7,680 Views)
Hi Kirbata,
  I have built a CVI7 app that talks to a DS2480.  Obviously you are after temperature capabilities.  I'll be straight with you, you must be persistent to get the first successful compile.  If my memory serves me correctly the iButton SDK will link in with CVI without having to change any source or header files.  You simply have to get the order correct.  You will be using the ow...( ) functions to talk 1-wire if you don't use .NET.  I just used the 'C' files myself.