From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabWindows/CVI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Acquire Analog I/P & display in indicator

Hi all, Im new to CVI & hopefully can get some help.

How do I acquire analog input from a DAQ and display all Analog channel 0-31 in indicator?

I've seen most examples display result on a graph.

For example,

DAQmxReadAnalogF64 (taskHandle, samplesToReadPerChannel, 10.0,
         DAQmx_Val_GroupByChannel, data,
         numChannels*samplesToReadPerChannel, &actualSamplesRead, 0);

Where to extract each channel sample and display all in each indicator?

Thanks alot!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(4,064 Views)

A good way to approach daq programming is to start from an existing example: you can find those installed on your PC by using the example finder by using Help >> Find examples... menu function; there you can search among locally installed samples and samples on NI site.

On your PC you should have these examples installed: is this code abstract coming from one of them? 

In any case, you can find the sampled data in your 'data' array, and since you choose DAQmx_Val_GroupByChannel as tge grouping order all samples by one channel are stored together in the array. That is, coming from index 0 in the array you'll find actualSamplesRead samples from first channel, then the same number of samples from the second channel and so on.

Proud to use LW/CVI from 3.1 on.

My contributions to the Developer Community
(4,055 Views)

Hi thanks for reply.

I have looked through the examples... still figuring out some part.

So i suppose index 0 contain channel 1, index 2 - channel 2 and so on...

How do I loop through actualSamplesRead to get the reading for each channel? Can you show me some example?

Appreciate lots!