LabWindows/CVI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A button, led and switch

Hi. I'm new in the LabWindows CVI and i put to panel a toggle button, a led and a binary switch. I want to turn on the led when i pressing the button and to change the color of led from switch. I put all components to panel, i set a callback function for each, i generate all callbacks from menu and the next step i think it is to use GetCtrlVal and SetCtrlVal, but i don't know how to use this function and where to use. I need help..I had never used LabWindowsCvi before

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(6,621 Views)

The case with button and the led it's solved. Now i don't know how to change the color of led using that switch..

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 16
(6,598 Views)

You are correct that GetCtrlVal and SetCtrlVal are the two functions to use here. Did you have a look at the many example programs that ship with CVI? Almost all of them use these two basic functions. Try to learn about the debug functions such that you can step through the code line by line and see how the functions affect the UI.

Setting the LED will look something like SetCtrlVal ( panel_handle, PANEL_LED_10, 1 ); This will switch the LED ON and accordingly change its color from OFF_COLOR to ON_COLOR. The other relevant function here is SetCtrlAttribute, e.g. SetCtrlAttribute ( panel_handle, PANEL_LED_10, ATTR_ON_COLOR, VAL_RED ); SetCtrlAttribute ( panel_handle, PANEL_LED_10, ATTR_OFF_COLOR, VAL_GREEN );

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 16
(6,593 Views)

Here is how i did it :

int CVICALLBACK chooseColour (int panel, int control, int event,
void *callbackData, int eventData1, int eventData2)
{
int switchState;
switch (event)
{
case EVENT_COMMIT:
GetCtrlAttribute(panelHandle, PANEL_LED,ATTR_CTRL_VAL, &switchState);
if (switchState == 1)
{
SetCtrlAttribute(panelHandle, PANEL_LED,ATTR_CTRL_VAL, 0);
}
else
SetCtrlAttribute(panelHandle, PANEL_LED,ATTR_CTRL_VAL, 1);
break;

i'm curious about yours 🙂

0 Kudos