LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

why the push button and stop button does not work in the case structure and while loop of my VI? (code is attached)

Solved!
Go to solution

I am a beginner. I am trying to create a simple VI that switches beetween two types of signals like sine and triangular when someone presses the push button and at the same time record the data in the file on my desktop. Also I have a stop button that stops recording the data.  Here are my dproblems and questions:

1.When I press the push button, it does not switch the true and false in the case structure so that I can see the triagular wave stops and the sine starts in the wave form chart. 

2.When I press the stop button I want the program still running but the process of writing data in the while loop stops. I do not mind if the wave chart stops too but it would be better for the user to see the waveform is running but the data stops recording.

3. The while loop condition did not accept the local variable for stop button inside the loop or inside the case structure so I put the stop button outside of all loops and structure.  (which I know this causes a problem, I do not know how to use a single button many times in one code. The local variable did not work how to create global? do I need to?)

4.The data file that it creates hase many rows and columns. I was expecting a column of Time and a column of amplititude of mixed signal based on the pushbutton that user press each time.  I have done that with DAQ and a sensor, It automatically gives me the voltage and time in one column. I tried 2D and 1D and it did not change anything. 

Thank you for your help

frontpanel.png

code.png

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(6,314 Views)

Your buttons need to be inside the While Loop.

The way you have it the buttons will only be read once when the loop starts.

========================
=== Engineer Ambiguously ===
========================
Message 2 of 14
(6,308 Views)