LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

using array from one vi in another vi

Hi,

Im new with NI LabView and i have few Qs:

1. I'm writing a vi and I'm creating a numeric array in it. How can I use the array (It's content) in a different vi that's I'm writing?

2. How do I link between vi's? Im writing few vi's and pressing a boolean button at one of them should close the current vi and open another one. How it's being done?

3. How can i create that a picture will appear after pressing a button? pressing a button create entering to a case frame in which I make a string visible, bolded etc. How do I make it also shown picture at the same time?

thanks and regards,

Shay

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,417 Views)

Ok, so you're at the very beginning so don't be afraid to ask, there are no silly questions.

LabVIEW is based on the dataflow paradigm, to pass data from A.vi to B.vi the natural LabVIEW way is to place A.vi and B.vi in a new VI, let's call it C.vi.

So C.vi has two subVIs (A.vi and B.vi).

Hmmm... you know what... instead of writing I'm going to shout a video.

It shows how to use the VIs you create as subVIs and how to use the connector pane to pass data from main VI to subVIs and from a subVI to another one. Here is the link : http://www.vimeo.com/17805576

If this is too easy for you, please don't feel insulted and if you have questions please ask.

Maybe it's not the best idea to display VI's front panel one after the other (it's possible if that what you really want), this easiest is probably to build a main VI that will use many subVIs to perform different actions. and if you need space a good option is to use tabs.

Hope this helps

We have two ears and one mouth so that we can listen twice as much as we speak.

Epictetus

Antoine Chalons

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(3,403 Views)