cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

using LPT to generate pulses

hi..
im new to labview,
im trying to generate clock , strobe and data signals
( data to be user defined ) using the wave form generator function in LabView 7.1..the data has a different time period as compared to the other pulses..
my end purpose is to use the parallel port to output these signals on an oscilloscope....
could u please suggest how i should go about it?
thank you,
Sairaj.

ps:i have attached the file tht generates the pulses, i have no idea how to use the parallel port after this, especially considering tht there are so many timing issues involved.

Message Edited by Sairaj on 06-09-2005 01:00 AM

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(3,953 Views)
Hi Sairaj

There have been several threads about this topic. Just search the forums with "parallel port" and you will find lots of these threads.

Thomas
Using LV8.0
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't be afraid to rate a good answer... 😉
--------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(3,941 Views)
hey Thomas,
thanks for the reply..
i went through the various posts but i really did not find ne to suit my aplication....
i will be using the three signals to control the 74HC4094....more assistance would be greatly appreciated as ive been stuck on this for quite some time now..
thanks,
Sairaj.
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(3,926 Views)
hey retour to sender above...........

I have a question:

For what reason do you want to clock Data into a serial to parallel converting Chip while you could use the LPT - Port in direct way for your 8 Bits........up to now I do not understand the need of this 4094.

Do you want to plug some of these 4094 Chips in series ? Do you have the need of more then 8 Bit in Parallel?

Tell me / others some more about your target; then the answer might be more accurate.