From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

user interface menu

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I'm relatively new to Labview, I was given an interactive menu that allows the user to select a series of processes to execute.  I have the subVIs of these processes but I have no idea how to have the user defined sequence execute. I thought about using a state machine and create  all the combinations but the amount of cases would be ridiculous. Does any of you have an idea on how to do this?

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,128 Views)

The code you have so far looks good (I haven't tried to executeit) for generating the sequences.

You know you want to use a state machine for for going through the tests.  That is good.

I don't understand your comment about needing to generate cases for all the combinations.  A state machine only needs a case for each state.  In essence, you are looking for a queued state machine, where the next state to execute will be based on whatever is the next element in your array.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(3,117 Views)

@RavensFan wrote:

In essence, you are looking for a queued state machine, where the next state to execute will be based on whatever is the next element in your array.

Yup this is also known as a Queued Message Handler.  LabVIEW ships with a couple examples but the simplest one can be found by going to File >> New...  Then picking it from under the templates section.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(3,113 Views)

What I meat to say is, if the user selects the sequence Start-FDM1-CNC-FDM1-FDM2-End how would the state machine execute that? Would I have to create a case for every combination if I use a state machine?

Thanks for replying

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 9