From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

usbser.sys BSOD When Arduino sending data over USB

Thank you for viewing this thread. 

I am new to programming (in both C and LabVIEW) so I am certain that I have not written my coding in the most efficient way however it appears to be doing what I want. I am using and Arduino Uno along with a DAC (MCP4921) and a ADC (MCP3304). The ADC is taking readings of the voltage output from the DAC and temperature readings. These are just to simulate readings I will be taking at a later date and check that the project is working. 

I have written and deployed some code in the Arduino IDE 

#include <SPI.h> // necessary library
#include <MCP3304.h>
int del=15; // used for various delays                                                    //Changed del=1 to del=0
MCP3304 adc1(9);  //create an instance with pin 9 as CS
float tempreading;
float vtemp;
int temperatureC;
int reading;
float voltage;

word outputValue = 0; // a word is a 16-bit number
byte data = 0; // and a byte is an 8-bit number
void setup()
{
  //set pin(s) to input and output
  pinMode(10, OUTPUT);
  SPI.begin(); // wake up the SPI bus.
  SPI.setBitOrder(MSBFIRST);
  Serial.begin(115200);
}

void loop()
{
  for (int a=0; a<=1023; a++) //loops through increasing voltage from -2.5v to +2.5v
  {
    outputValue = a*4; //reduce number of readings needed
    digitalWrite(10, LOW);
    data = highByte(outputValue);
    data = 0b00001111 & data; //0b signifies that value to follow is binary then 00001111 gets upper nibble
    data = 0b00110000 | data; //0b signifies that value to follow is binary then 00110000 function set cmd
    SPI.transfer(data);
    data = lowByte(outputValue);
    byte x = SPI.transfer(data);