LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

two source buffered counting

I'm working with a buffered counting program that takes the imput from two different sources and displays the counts as a function of time.  The other day I did a test and realized that the time axis for these two counters is not synchronized.  The program was written by a visiting student and basically from files and subvis taken from the labview code sharing.  Basically, its two individual buffered counting programs running in parrallel and their is no connection between the two.  I have tried several things including using the time data from one for both sources and many other simple things.  I'm not very experienced with labview but I'm reading up and it looks like I may need to use a trigger to synchronize the counting.  It would be nice if anybody can help me with this problem?  I'm using the 6602 in traditional NiDaq mode.

Message Edited by Briconn on 01-12-2006 12:54 PM

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(3,143 Views)

You are right you will need a hardware task to synchronize the start of the tasks, if they are started without a trigger they will be started with a software "task start command" and they will be asynchronous and there will be an indeterminate amount of time between the tasks.  Use the daqMX trigger vi to set the source of the trigger (probably a digital edge) and make sure you set both tasks to share the same hardware trigger source (PFI line) you will then be able to send a digital pulse from another counter or even an external TTL pulse to start both tasks.

Paul

Paul Falkenstein
Coleman Technologies Inc.
CLA, CPI, AIA-Vision
Labview 4.0- 2013, RT, Vision, FPGA
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(3,133 Views)