From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

tcp/ip communication protocol

Hi All,

I've never done any Labview programming for TCP/IP as of late.  But now I need to figure how to.  

I've been asked to work on a Pick to Light system that is controlled via TCP/IP comm.

The Communication data is sent via a CCB (Communication Control Block) format as below.

ccb.JPG

The image below shows how to turn on a certain 7-segment LED to display a certain number.

ccb2.JPG

What I'm trying to figure out is, how do you send the formated data via TCP/IP.  As you know again, I've never worked with TCP/IP before.  

I've done a ton of searching etc for how to send the data in a format that is similar to what the controller needs but have yet to find anything similar.  

I'm not asking for you to do the coding for me, just need some guidance on how to.

I also attached the comm protocol for reference.

Thanks a ton in advanced,

guytesting

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,717 Views)
TCP/IP is just the physical layer. The protocol is actually similar to many serial instruments that require you send hex instead of ASCII text. You can use a string control/constant set for hex display. This is a right click option. You can also use a U8 array and the Byte Array to String function. Change the display to hex to make it more readable.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(3,689 Views)
Aside from the minor point that ATOP obviously didn't hire an English speaker to translate their manual, the documentation actually seems pretty good. The idea is that once you have established a connection, TCP/IP works a lot like a full-duplex serial link. You send packets and you receive packets.