From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

show hide vi

I’m new to LV. I have been working with LV on and off with small projects. My new project is a little more complex. In the main.vi I would like to have a Boolean (Set) to open the front panel of another vi. to run in parallel with the main.vi. In the pictures, I have three PID temperatures each one would need a Sub.vi to run the algorithm of the PID. I was thinking of using Global Variable to past data from the Main.vi to the Sub.vi. I do know that I need to keep the Sub.vi in memory so LV can do the algorithm and pass the data over to the Main.vi. So, the question I’m asking is what’s the best way of doing this? With keeping this in memory will it make it run slower? I have tried using a Tab Control with all the setting but to me it takes up too much real estate that’s why I’m looking into opening a window for the settings to keep the Main.vi front panel clean. I was looking at make the sub.vi be transparent or minimize by a Boolean (set) on Main.vi.pid2.PNGpid.PNG

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(3,458 Views)

1. Use subpanels.  With subpanels, you just dynamically load a VI's panel and it shows up like it is on your main VI.

2.  Personally, I like to use User Events to send messages to my parallel loops/process.  The process can do something with the message (like update a parameter), or ignore it.

3.  It might be too advanced at this point, but this sounds like a good application for the Actor Framework.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines