LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

running a stepper motor counter clockwise continuously

Solved!
Go to solution

hi I am trying to run a stepper motor clockwise one full rotation in 3 seconds, wait eight seconds and then one and a half rotations counter clockwise for five seconds. i am pretty new to labview and i have been able to make the first rotation using a shift register and a for loop and while loop but can't really figure out how to make it go in reverse.. if anyone could help it would be greatly appreciated.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(5,562 Views)

There are many types of stepper motors and many ways to send signals to them.  Without more information on your particular motor and driver system we have no idea what to tell you.  When you provide that info please post your current code as well.  

LabVIEW Pro Dev & Measurement Studio Pro (VS Pro) 2019 - Unfortunately now moving back to C#, .NET, Python due to forced change to subscription model by NI. 8^{
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(5,540 Views)

I am trying to use an elvis board to run a uni-polar stepper, and I know it's not recommended to use a sequence structure but I am not to familier with case structures So I went with the sequence. My trouble is with the last sequence, I cannot figure out how to make the numbers go in reverse. as you can see I tried using the rotate array function but it doesn't make it rotate backwards. please help!!! thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 5
(5,525 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author sammybammy

so if anybody could help me with this it would just make my day... thanks

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 5
(5,481 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author sammybammy

A state machine is often the preferred way to deal with a stepper motor and the reversal of a sequence of steps.