cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

rt - error importing dll

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I'm trying to use a dll I wrote on a PXI + RT.

I compiled the dll using visual studio express 2010 on windows vista. Importing and running the dll on labview on my workstation works just fine,

but when I try to load the program on a PXI + RT I get a bad import error.

Using the RT dll checker (version 2009 and 2011) I see I have 25 bad imports from msvcr100.dll and kernel32.dll. Some of the functions I cannot import correctly are:

DecodePointer, DecodePointer, CreateEventW, CreateSemaphore, etc...

I'm new to using dll's in LabView and I'm wondering if I missed something or if I'm doing something wrong...

Can you help me?

Thanks

Carlo

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,345 Views)

Not all Windows functions are supported in the RT operating system; most likely you are trying to call unsupported functions.  See "How Can I Verify that My DLL is Executable in LabVIEW Real-Time?"

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(3,328 Views)

Thanks for the reply.

I'm not using any windows function in my code.

It is a C code which is stand alone (except for the use of math functions in #include <math.h>).

Do you have any other idea why my dll does not work?

Carlo

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(3,324 Views)

But the functions you mention that do not import properly are Windows functions.  If you're not calling them, then they're probably part of the run-time code that the compiler includes.  Perhaps there's some way to tell the compiler to use a smaller version of the run-time library?

EDIT: by the way, sorry for pointing you at an article that you apparently already read.  I missed that you had already run the DLL checker when I first replied to your post.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 6
(3,321 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author scarlo