From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

robotics

Hey Guys,

I am a BE Electronics Student from Mumbai university and I am planning to develop a project ' SCARA robotic Arm ' by developing a Teach Pendant virtual instrument (vi) on the National Instruments LabVIEW 2009 software and then porting it to the RoBoard SBC to make it a standalone.

The Scara will have 2 revolute joints controlled by DC servo motors , a linear Z direction servo motor and a gripper controlled by dc servo. There will be limit switches as sensors and there may be use of gyro at the end -effector.

The User will be able to teach the robotic arm by individually controlling each servo position and then this will be recorded on the Roboard's memory , now when the user is done teaching and wants the process to repeat. he will mention the no. of iterations and the arm is supposed to perform the same action. 

I am using standard DC servo Motors as actuators for the robotic arm and contrlling thier positions via the front panel (teach pendant) of labview by PWM technique. I have developed a standard PWM vi to control servos. 
Now , here are my questions:

1. I don't know how to do the same with RoBoard as the hardware , how to use the clock of the Roboard to generate sqaure pulse for the pwm with labview ? are there any tutorials or tips for the same.
Roboard is a SBC , so basically I want to extract the processor CPU clock on the labview and control it using pwm to control the motors , which pallets should I use on the block diagram ?