LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

replacing shift registers with queues or notifiers?

Hello World,

I'm using labView 7.1 with my first application, which is essentially a spectrum analyser and comparison to limits. now due to the parameters of the sampling 12000 samples/sec with 4096 point I have quite large chunks of data involved in rolling averages of 1 minute and rolling buffers that are an hour long. I'm pretty new to labview but I'm finding pretty easy to pick up except when it comes to optimisation and performance (I've been used to the microsoft approach until now) due to the fact that the instrument I'm building has to run in psuedo "real time".

I've been looking at replacing the shift registers with either queues or notifiers but I'm unsure if these techniques would result in improvements or not.

I'll attach a jpg of my main loop, I've only got the one but it is separated into three separate tasks but they are all governed by the data flow, DAQ then PROCESSING then REPORTING.

I've been told that by separating the loops and making them run in parallel LV will be able to compile it more efficeintly, but I'm unsure how to do that .

Cheers

Andrew
90% of all experts aggree that 1 out of 10 experts are wrong
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,732 Views)

@Fat Controller wrote:
Hello World,

I'm using labView 7.1 with my first application, which is essentially a spectrum analyser and comparison to limits. now due to the parameters of the sampling 12000 samples/sec with 4096 point I have quite large chunks of data involved in rolling averages of 1 minute and rolling buffers that are an hour long. I'm pretty new to labview but I'm finding pretty easy to pick up except when it comes to optimisation and performance (I've been used to the microsoft approach until now) due to the fact that the instrument I'm building has to run in psuedo "real time".