LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

remove two leading zeros from hex string

Solved!
Go to solution

I am passing a ASCII string from Test Stand to a VI i wrote and I start out with "04" and my VI get the ASCII "04" normal.  I then convert  a ASCII string to a Hex string (using a VI solution I found on the web) and instead of it being Hex Display "04", it adds two leading zeros in the Hex  Display "0004".  I need to remove the two leading zeros so it is just "04".  I am sure there is probably a obvious solution (I am rather new at LabVIEW). Thank you

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(6,082 Views)

String palette >> String Subset

Better yet, fix the VI you found on the web that is giving you the extra zeroes.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(6,079 Views)

Could you supply the code that you are doing the conversion with?  We will likely find your problem there.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(6,078 Views)

There is probably much more going on than it "just adding two extra zeroes" that you need to chop off.  Find out what's really going on so you don't make the mistake of treating the symptom and not the cause.  (I can pretty much guarantee that chopping off the extra zeroes without understanding why will lead to heartache down the road.)

Bill
CLD
(Mid-Level minion.)
My support system ensures that I don't look totally incompetent.
Proud to say that I've progressed beyond knowing just enough to be dangerous. I now know enough to know that I have no clue about anything at all.
Humble author of the CLAD Nugget.
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 9
(6,041 Views)

I think this conversion does what you are looking for.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions