cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

reading multiple channels on oscilloscope

Solved!
Go to solution

Hey there everyone,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to read this. I'm still relatively new to LabVIEW but i have read most of the basics.

This question is regarding how VISA's work.

I have an oscilloscope that has sensors to 3 channels and i want to display all 3 channels onto the same graph. The example VI that is included with the driver allows me to access one channel however it also adds other functionalities, such as controlling the device which i do not need, i just want to read the data from the oscilloscope.

I wont be able to access the equipment for a few days but have begun coding. Below is what i have coded so far.

Multiple VISA access.PNG

Read Waveform.PNG Scale Waveform.PNG

The first blue function is "Read Waveform to Array", and the second "Scale Waveform to Array"

Am i allowed to access the VISA like that? Or is that an illegal access that would cause problems?

I've tried accessing multiple channels before while i was in the lab however they always produced errors.

I am using a tektronix TDS2013C oscilloscope , Labview 2013 and have downloaded the relevant driver for my model.

Any help or links to relative learning tools would be greatly appreciated!

-Nam

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(8,298 Views)

I do not believe your vi will work as intended. Typically, scopes can only process commands serially, that is, one at a time.

Make an array of your sources, then put the two VIs in a for loop. That way you can read 3 channels, however, they will be accessed one at a time.

I do not have LabVIEW in front of me to make a sample, so let me know if you need more help.

Cheers,

mcduff

Message 2 of 11
(8,266 Views)

Thank you for the reply!