From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

read from text document to display into graph

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I just started learning LabView a week ago and I'm stil new to it. I would like to display the data on the first(Greylevel) and third (Phaseshift) coloumn and plot it on a waveform graph. But I do not know how to connect it in the block diagram. And do i need to put in a property node for TimeStamp that displays ItemName and what does it do? I followed most of my diagram from the Read from Text file.vi. but i don't really understand how it works. Could someone please explain it to me? 

Also I'm using LabView version 9.

Please kindly tell me if i need to put in any other function to make it work or if I'm doing anything wrong.

Here's the text document, my block diagram and front panel:

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(2,906 Views)

Exactly what are you trying to plot?

Your data has only 1 timestamp.  So a Waveform graph in the traditional meaning of a signal varying over time doesn't apply here.  You have a column of grey levels and a column of phase shift.  That seems more like an X vs. Y situation where an XY graph would be appropriate.  As such, the while loop isn't necessary.

You just need to use index array to get the 1st and 3rd columns, then bundle them in the appropriate way needed to send to an XY graph.  (The example finder has an example for XY graph that shows a couple of different ways of combining the data for different situations.)

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(2,907 Views)

ok I see! 

So what's the timestamp for and how many should I put?

I've edited the block diagam. But should the output be 1D or 2D array? And am i using the correct bundle and am I wiring it correctly?