LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

"Report" versus "File"?

I have a program that runs a large HVAC unit for a long period of time. I would like to keep track of simple data during this run, such as time of switch setting changes, temperatures at different points of time, time of faults, etc. No fancy analog data is being monitored. I would like this data to be stored to a file where this data may be uploaded again if need be (if they need to re-run the unit for example and need to know how much time it has already run) or sent to a printer.

Looking through the available tools in LabView 7.1 I see both "reports" and "files". Which of these options is better suited to what I am trying to accomplish? Btw - I am a self-taught beginner, so speak s-l-o-w-l-y! 🙂
Amateur programmer for over 10 years!
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 26
(2,942 Views)
Spif,

The difference between the two is how they are used. I always think of a report as something to hand to the boss that looks pretty and says see I did get something done. The report is the final polished type thing, and in general is never used to get data from. You would not reload a report.

A file on the other hand is everything else. You have complete control over what you put in it, how it looks, and how you store it. This is what you are looking for. In the file you can save all the state changes and data points. You can then read that back in and view it. I would suggest starting with an Ascii text file, unless it is going to be a huge file. My main reason is it is easier to look at the text file and figure out any mistakes you have made. Trying to read a binary file is a good way to cross your eyes.

Now with that being said you mentioned printing. Depends on the use case, if it is for a tech to see what has happened stick with a text file. If it needs to look nice, then I would create a program that can read your data text file and turn it into a report.