From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

"Check if True, Then Continue" - How to Implement?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello LV Community,

I am trying to create a VI that checks if a certain condition (in this case, that the wavelength my monochromator is putting out is at the correct value) is true, then continues and takes measurement. I tried using a combination of a case structure and a timed sequence (see attached screenshot - I'm self-taught and a beginner so sorry if it's a disaster stylistically), but the case structure requires there to be an input from the "false" case into the tunnel. I just want it to do nothing if the case is false - any inputs from "false" would be added to the "sum array elements" and taint my data (right?), so I don't want that.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(4,938 Views)

Something has to be done in the false case.  What do you want to sum if the case is false?

Perhaps if we saw more of your code then just a tight screenshot of one section, we can give you a better idea what to do.

If you don't want to do things like sum the array, then that part of the code should be in the case structure as well.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(4,928 Views)

Hi RavensFan,

If the case is false, I would like the program to wait until the case has become true (and, I suppose, if it fails to become true after a certain time, display an error message and time out). There is nothing that I would like summed in the false case - I just want my power meter to sit idle and update once the mono has begun outputting the desired wavelength.