From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

"Case Structure: No case for some selector values" Error

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello All,

I am new to LabVIEW and am getting an error that I cannot get rid of. My code consists of a state machine with 5 different states. I am not sure if this is a common error or if I need to supply more information. Please let me know and please help.

Best regards,

L.E.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(13,972 Views)

L.E.

If your state machine is a type def enum make sure you have a case for every value.  If your case selector is a number make sure all ranges are covered, or specify a 'default' case.

e.g.

Case:   0..10,15

Case:   12

Case:   Default

Post your code if you need more help 😉

Michael

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(13,969 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author L.E.

This is explained in the LabVIEW Help: http://zone.ni.com/reference/en-XX/help/371361H-01/lvhowto/specify_default_case/

You are driving the case structure from an enum. If you connect an enum you need to provide a case for each enum value, or specify one case as the default case to execute if no case matches the value of the enum.

-Or-

You are driving the case structure from a string or numeric and do not have a case specified as the default case if no case matches the value of the string/numeric.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(13,967 Views)