From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

pulse generation

Im new to LabVIEW, im using LabVIEW 2013, i try to develop a program to control a stepper motor.
I need three signals/inputs.......motor on/off (Boolean), motor direction(true=clock wise, false=counter click wise) and clock pulse for driver circuit. And i need to send all these signals to driver circuit using DAQ. Im using ni 6009....
My problem is i dont know how to create a pulse generator and how it configured with daq(port?....line?)...i need to control the time between each clock pulse (frequency)...
Please help me...thanks in advance..
Message 1 of 10
(4,500 Views)

LabVIEW ships with useful pulse generation examples you can find from the menu Help->Find Examples... then search for "Counter".   You can adapt one of these to include sequencing that sets the direction and enable bits before stepping and then turns off the enable when the motion is complete.

Unfortunately, the 6009 isn't a good choice of data acq board for this kind of app as it doesn't support counter output.  What other hardware is available to you?   Anything in the 62xx or 63xx families?

-Kevin P

CAUTION! New LabVIEW adopters -- it's too late for me, but you *can* save yourself. The new subscription policy for LabVIEW puts NI's hand in your wallet for the rest of your working life. Are you sure you're *that* dedicated to LabVIEW? (Summary of my reasons in this post, part of a voluminous thread of mostly complaints starting here).
Message 2 of 10
(4,478 Views)
Thanks for your advice, but i don't have any other DAQ....can i use digital i/o port/line of ni 6009 for generating pulses?
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(4,470 Views)

Hi mak,