LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

pulse counter using DAQ

I have USB-6008 Daq hardware and labview.

I am trying to build a photodiode sensor, so basically my circuit will give out pulses signal (think of it as square wave or sine wave signals). It gives a signal whenever it is triggered. I am trying to count each pulse that occured during the testing.

Now, how can I build a pulse counter. I am just starting to learn to use labview, so I am trying to find the easiest way to accomplish this.

Currently, I am using signal generator to test it (with repeating square wave). Can anyone please help? Most of the VI is too hard for me to grasp

Basically, it just needs to count every pulse in real time (and show the count result in numeric indicator).

A sample vi would be really helpful? thank you in advance

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(4,537 Views)

I am trying to use simulate signal fucntion to generate waveform for testing, but it always give me waveform is below zero error for those function that I tested

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(4,534 Views)

The USB-6008 does not have a built-in counter and the Digital inputs are software timed, so counting pulses will not be straightforward.

You could use the analog inputs and then find the times which the signals cross a threshold to define the pulses.

To get help, it is best if you can post the VI you are working with.  If you can acquire any data at all, Make the Current Value Default on the indicator showing the data.  Then save the VI and post it to the Forum.  Also tell us as specifically as possible what does not work and what you expect the results to be.

Lynn

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(4,530 Views)

Currently, I only have a while loop with DAQ assistant function and trying to figure out what to do next after acquiring the analog signal