From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

problems programming in labview

hello, I'm new in labview programming and I need help. In my project, I would like to acquire and decode the signal irig b. But I have a problem with a sub vi, in the waveform chart that I added in my vi  (see attachment) I should see the waveform of the signal irig, but when I launch the program does not see anything, remains fixed at the value 1, where am I doing wrong?

thanks

Roberta

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,602 Views)

I don't understand your program, but it is full of race conditions. You are writing to PPS twice in the upper sequence and, in parallel (!), you are reading from it and writing to the terminal. The results are unpredictable and depend on what happens first. Most likely the currently FALSE PPS local variable near the bottom is read first and the value sent to the indicator and chart while the sequence toggles the LED, but by that time the stale value has already be written to the chart.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(2,590 Views)

You are only updating the chart once. You also have a race condition because of the incorrect method of using local variables.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(2,588 Views)

..., where am I doing wrong?

thanks

Roberta

Many places. You probably need to go through the getting started videos and the tutorial.  You have missed some basic concepts of LabVIEW.

Lets look at some of the problems:

1. the basic race condition

Capture.PNG