LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

photon counting

Hi i am setting up a fluorescence correlation spectroscopy (FCS) experiment based on a home made confocal microscope coupled to a single avalanche photodiode (SAPD Perkin Elmer) that is able to count photon by delivering TTL pulses (2.5 V, 9 ns). To perform FCS or single molecule FRET experiment analysis I need to record photon count during several minutes. We have installed a PCIe 6361 with a connector box. I am a newbie in the labview "world" and I tried to record photon flux by using the attached vi. as you will see it is not really optimized in term of speed acquisition. it works well if i record 1 000 000 points with 1µs time resolution. unfortunatly for ma purpose it is definitively not enough moreover the NI card is a able to run 100Mhz.

would it be possible to use some tricks ? like FIFO mode or a sliding buffer ?

many thanks for your help.

regards

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(5,352 Views)

I cannot help with the DAQ and speed issues.  You may also have a memory issue.  Consider acquiring the data as integer (not scaled to DBL) and recording to a binary file.  Convert to scaled values later if needed.

A 100 MHz sampling rate is not fast enough to capture all of your 9 ns pulses, because the sampling interval is 10 ns. You must also have more than 10 ns between the trailing edge of one pulse and the leading edge of the next to be able to resolve the pulses. What kind of time resolution (between pulses) do you need to measure the correlation within your error budget?

Lynn

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(5,342 Views)

Dear John,