From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

passing values from a for loop

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi All,

I am fairly new to labview. What I am trying to do is a read a txt file that contains time vs speed and use the speed values to control an actuator.

So far I was able to extract the values from the file as a 2D array using a “for loop”. However, I can’t pass the values out from the “for loop” in real time. I used index at the tunnel, but either it will give the last value or all the values at ones. I want to get the “speed” values every second.

With the highlight executioner I can see that it will execute the “for loop”; but wait till the whole file is finished to execute the code after the loop. I tried shift registry, local variable, flat sequence structures….

If someone can help me, that will be awesome. Thank you so much in advance.

I have attached the VI and the txt file as well.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,709 Views)
You don't use a for loop to read the file. Call Read From Spreadsheet File once and have the for loop index the 2D array row by row. The actuator code goes inside the for loop.
Message 2 of 5
(2,700 Views)

@Sasoo wrote:

Hi All,

I am fairly new to labview. What I am trying to do is a read a txt file that contains time vs speed and use the speed values to control an actuator.

So far I was able to extract the values from the file as a 2D array using a “for loop”. However, I can’t pass the values out from the “for loop” in real time. I used index at the tunnel, but either it will give the last value or all the values at ones. I want to get the “speed” values every second.