LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

parse string (chemical formula)

I've made a simple VI that takes a string value of a chemical formula and puts the element symbol and count into a 2-D array.  As I'm just getting started with this, I'm wondering if I'm doing things the best way.  Bascially I used a while loop and a couple of regexes to split up the elements of the string and then used the build array functions to append to 1D arrays and then make a 2D arrayScreen Shot 2014-07-16 at 9.41.04 PM.png

The front panel looks as such.  What I'm wondering, is there a more efficient way to do this, and is regex a common thing to use in LV or do people generally build up functions using the general substring functions?  As background, I've taken core I and II and am now digging in to some of my actual application.  (planning to take core III later this year or next)

Thanks!

Dana

Screen Shot 2014-07-16 at 9.41.32 PM.png

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,197 Views)

...and sorry about the screenshot.  should've cleaned up the block diagram first, as I just realized it looks like the integer shift register is wired to the loop counter, which isn't actually the case.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(3,193 Views)

Hi Dana,

if you use "Match Pattern" function instead of "Match Regular Expression" your code, in general,  will be faster.

Can you post your VI (for LV2011) so I can try to run a couple of tests, please?

(I would like to try H2O and CH3COOH)

Regards,

Marco

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(3,154 Views)

It didn't look like the match pattern function had the \D and \d patterns to get "non-digit" and "digit", although perhaps I could use [0-9] and [^0-9].