cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

output a wave in U8 using NiDAQ USB 6009

Solved!
Go to solution

Hey 

guys im trying to output a sine or a square wave in U8 format using NI Daq USB 6009 , i am getting some kind of an output but i dont know whether its right or not.please help me verify, of if am doing some kind of a blunder than plz correct me im pretty new to labviw.

I am Resample waveform.vi to vary dt according to my requirement also.but th value which outputs doesnt match with the value/s entering the loop, 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 26
(3,585 Views)

The USB-6009 has software timed digital outputs. That means that the timing in the wavefrom is ignored.

Inside your for loop you have Digital Write, 1 Channel, 1 Sample, U8. You are wiring to it a waveform. Notice the coercion dot at the data input. That coercion probably means  that the first element in the Y array of the waveform is selected and coerced into the U8 data type. The loop then writes that same value 5 times at ~ 50 ms intervals.

You need to do at least two things to get close to what you want.

1. Extract the Y array from the waveform. Convert it to an array of U8. (Make sure you avoid numeric overflow on the datatype). Wire the  U8 array to the Digital Write via an autoindexing tunnel.

2. To change your effective dt chnage the Loop Time (ms) constant. Note that the speed limit on the USB-6009 is such that times less than 10-15 ms my be unreliable.

Also it is better to Create the channel and Stop and Clear the task outside the for loop rather than repeating that on every iteration

Lynn

Message 2 of 26
(3,564 Views)

@johnsold wrote:

The USB-6009 has software timed digital outputs. That means that the timing in the wavefrom is ignored.