cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

offset lvdt before running program

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all,

I am using an LVDT to measure the soil displacement. This has to take into account both the consolidation and swelling and thus requires the LVDT to move in both directions. Therefore the voltage has to be zeroed after the LVDT is pushed in so that it can record both negative and positive direction. So far, I have managed to do this by using a case structure which executes when the 'Zero out' button is pushed. However, it only comes into effect after the program is run. What I need is a 'zero out' button that can be used before the program is run. So i want to push in the lvdt, hit the 'zero out' button, then start running the program to avoid those initial voltages getting recorded onto the xy graph.

I did find a vi file that does this but it was very complicated and used older version of labview. I am fairly new to labview and thus couldn't follow the coding on it.

I have attached the vi file to make it easier to understand. Your help is greatly appreciated

Cheers,

Gurung 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,758 Views)

Hi Gurung,

Have you tried having the Zero Out button pushed to a True value before you start the program? This will allow the code in the Case structure for the True case to be executed on the first iteration of the For loop. You may, however, lose some data in this case. Because the Case structure operates on data coming from the DAQ Assistant it needs to occur after some data has been acquired. Is this a calibration issue? As in, when you push the LVDT into the soil it has a a voltage measurement that you need to treat as a reference (zero value)?

Regards, 

James D.
Applications Engineer
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(2,737 Views)

Hi James,