LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

need to record data for 4 hrs at a rate of every 30s

Hello,

I'm fairly new to LabVIEW and need assistance. I have this VI that manually records torque and temperature by hitting a button. I want to alter it so that when I run the program  I can automatically collect data every 30 sec for 4 hrs and then the program stops. Any help would be appreciated. I have attached the VI. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,969 Views)

Use the Elapsed Time VI with the time set to 30 seconds and autoreset.  When the time elapsed boolean turns true, take your measurement and log it.  I would also keep a counter for how many measurements have been taken.  When this counter reaches 480 (4 hours worth of data), stop.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,952 Views)

Thanks! I will try that.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(3,932 Views)

I have altered my VI by incorporating the Elapsed time VI. I have also replaced my DAQ assistant with simulated signals. I can get the VI to stop at the specified time interval I want. The problem I am running ino is when i am trying to gather 4 sec of data every 30sec. When I first start the VI it will do just that, but then after for every 30 sec it will record, but only for a split second, not the 4 sec I want. So I am getting 170 kb files when it saves for 4 sec and only 1 kb files after that. Any help on what I need to change or what I am doing incorrect would be greatly appreciated. I have attched the VI.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 7
(3,819 Views)