LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

multiple TCP/IP connections

Hello, 

I am new with labview and I am trying to connect WAGO controller with LabVIEW 13  through modbus protocol via TCP/IP. Now, the question is how can I have multiple TCP/IP connections in the same LabVIEW project but different VIs? I am using MB ethernet master query.vi to write and read registers. Any suggestion would be very helpful to me. 

Thanks and Regards

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 19
(5,021 Views)

"can I have multiple TCP/IP connections in the same LabVIEW project but different VIs?"

short answer: yes.  You just need to make sure that you manage the ip and port constraints and you should be a-ok...

I've done this before using multiple acromag boards that use modbus in the same project/application.  I used LVOOP where each acromag had its own class and managed its own modbus session.

-pat

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 19
(4,966 Views)

Thanks for your reply Pat! 

as you said you used multiple Acromag boards in your system but in my application I have only one WAGO controller so requirement would be to have multiple TCP connections with same port number and same IP address. Sorry for not clearifying in the first post! 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 19
(4,940 Views)
Yes, that is possible too. But it could be that your WAGO Controller accepts only a limited number of connections.

Regards, Jens
Kudos are welcome...
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 19
(4,930 Views)

Instead of having multiple VIs in the same program that all establish a connection to the same unit, it would be much better to have a single VI in its own loop that is responsible for all modbus communication, and then feed values in and out of it (using queues, notifiers, or functional global variables as appropriate for the type of data and update frequency).

Message 5 of 19
(4,902 Views)