LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

modify sample project for myRIO

Dear Forum Members,

I am very new to the LabVIEW and have been working (mainly through help of Google) to modify one of the sample programmes included in LabVIEW 2014 to fit my purpose. I am using myRIO device together with X-CAN module.

Essentially, the  "Sample Projects" that programme that ships with the LabVIEW 2014 works in the following fashion

X-CAN_for_myRIO-BlockDiagram.png

2.jpg

This sample project uses dataflow programing that executes the following three functionalities from left to right:

1. Initialize—Re-initializes all controls and indicators to default values, sets the loop rate for the read/write loop, creates X-CAN session on MXP A connector with a CAN speed of 500 [Kbps] and intializes write/read LEDs .
  2. Read/Write CAN frames—Either reads/writes CAN Frame data from the X-CAN device and updates the on-board X-CAN LEDs. Loop is stopped when the user selects the stop button or an internal loop error occurs.
  3. Close—Closes the X-CAN session and reports any errors to the user.

When I am running this sample project, I can observe the X-CAN on-board LEDs for read/write operations. If in read mode, the raw CAN frame data will be updated in the CAN Frame, mainly the "Identifier", "Payload", and "timestamp" will keep updating according to the frequency I set.

I have modified it in the following fashion

4.jpg

1. I input the "Unbundle by name" after the "CAN Frame Read"to record the three variables that I would like to record. Can be found at the right bottom part of the above figure.
  2. I then add "Write to Measurement file" and connect those variables with it. Can be found at the right bottom part of the above figure.
  3. I have setup the "Write to Measurement file" properly. I made the file format to be "Excel", set "append to file", and the new file location set to be on my desktop. My settings can be found as below:
  4. 3.jpg