LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

modbus controls

Hi guys, I'm fairly new to Modbus and I'm having an issue with turning a device off an on over a modbus tcp connection over ethernet. This is a very simple code, so I'm not sure where the problem is or why it is behaving the way that it is behaving. I wrote a similar program to read the values from a nearby address and it is working perfectly. The "0" address is the control word address. 1150 is the stop/get ready command, while 1151 is the start command. Upon executing the code once, the vfd's start up just as they should and they are set to the appropriate hertz value, as they should. However, after changing the hz value and running the code once more, the vfd's turn off. Then, if i run the code again, they will turn back on and change to the hertz that I have set. In other words, on every odd run of the code, they are on and functioning, while on every even execution of the code, they will turn off. I understand that the issue is probably with the 1150 and 1151 write commands, but I can't wrap my mind around why this is. Any help at all would be greatly appreciated. Thank you! 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(2,799 Views)

Have you tried repeating the 1150 command just before the shutdown?  It looks like the code is currently assuming an implicit "stop" command within the shutdown.

The way your code is functioning, it leads me to believe that implicit stop doesn't take place.  The essential flow you have:

Create new TCP Master

Tell it to get ready.

Tell it to start.

Write the Hz value.

Shutdown.

On odd attempts, that works well.  But, if it's not running the stop, I wouldn't be surprised if the line is still acting as if it is in the "start" state.  When you run the code the next time, the first thing it does is stop.  Then when you run start is missed the "get ready" portion.