LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

local variable vs property node->value

Hi All,

I have been using LV7.0 for just under two years, and am basically self taught (but with fairly strong programming experience in other languages). I think I have gotten my head around most of the concepts, just one thing still bothering me (well, one thing at the moment Smiley Happy)

I know its best to always try and wire things together, but sometimes when you want to update an indicator from a few (only a few...) points in the program its just not really feasible  to have wires running through every case of the main state-machine. I do have a cluster of "global-ish" variables (not globals, just available to the whole main program), I just dont want to arbitrarily add controls to this cluster as although the overhead is probably small it seems wasteful?

As far as I know, there are  two ways around this, using the value property of the control/indicator, and using a local variable. Both break the data-flow paradigm, but in simple cases where there are no possible race conditions due to mostly sequential flow its probably safe to use either.

In the past I have noticed sometimes that using the value property would case the control/indicator to not get updated, but I have not been able to reproduce this problem. I have always steered clear of local variables on the advice of most people in this forum, but now I would like to know, which is the lesser of the two evils?

So my question is basically: in a bare-knuckle fight, would you rather have value property nodes on your side, or local variables??

Looking forard to hearing the answers.

cheers
Neil