From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

labview stepper motor signal sensor( one signal measurement per one step)

Hello everyone. I am new to labview programming and i have a problem with a strucure tha i am trying to program. I have a structure where there is a stepper motor moving a plate and a reflective object sensor who measures a distance. This distance changes continuously and the signal from the sensor has almost a sinusoidal form. I have already built a VI where i define the steps of the stepper motor with "a for loop"..and i am taking the sensor signal with a daq assistant and collecting the data to a waveform chart "while loop". What i am trying to do is to take one signal measurement from the daq assistant per one step of the stepper motor. I tried to make it happen by defining in the properties (acquisition mode) of the daq assistant "one sample on demand" and the other choices but i didnt make it. I want strictly taking one signal measurement per one step without involving timing conditions. Finally my current thought is to make a mathscript (maybe??) inside the for loop of the stepper motor and in some way to combine the signal measurement with the steps. Thank you in advance. I would really appreciate if somebody could help me.

I attach my current VI. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,088 Views)

Hi ChrisEv,

trigger the AI measurement using your pulse output to get one sample per pulse!

Btw. which hardware do you use? Does your hardware allow you to use AI triggers?

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 2 of 8
(3,082 Views)