LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to use local variables to pass an image mask correctly

I'm kind of new to labview but i'll try to explain the problem as best as i can: I'm trying to pass an image mask (basically an image) to the next iteration of a while loop using local variables. I think the image passes through the loop with the local variable but i can't read from it correctly for some reason. And I don't think the problem has to do with local variables because i've tried using shift registers and that didnt work either. I think the problem is that you need to do something to read the image correctly again, like using IMAQ copy or something (that didnt work tho), but i can't figure out what the problem is. Does anyone know what the problem is? I know this isnt a great explanation and if its too confusing i could send some snapshots of the program or something. Any help would be greatly appreciated though.

Thanks,
Will
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,698 Views)

Posting the code or image of it would definitely be helpful, and shift registers would be prefereable over locals, but I guess that the problem here that you're trying to pass an IMAQ reference (which is only a pointer to the data and not the data itself) and that might be the source of the problem since either (guessing here) the IMAQ ref becomes invalid or you're not using the right function to extract the data.

To learn more about LabVIEW, I suggest you try searching this site and google for LabVIEW tutorials. Here, here, here and here are a few you can start with and here are some tutorial videos. You can also contact your local NI office and join one of their courses.
In addition, I suggest you read the LabVIEW style guide and the LabVIEW user manual (Help>>Search the LabVIEW Bookshelf).

(2,691 Views)