From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to create a pop up form to enter a new item in the database table

Solved!
Go to solution

hello every one ,

i have one vi that contain a table indicator that read out the data from data base.on the front panel i want to add a button which on clicking pop up a window in which user can add item in tables of database ,the user will fill up the data and click on ok button .on clicking ok button the item will appear in the table of the database.and the window close .

please help me in creating this ok button so that the item can be added into the list after clicking it as well as it will exit the pop up window.

i am sorry if i ask something stupid ,because i am new to labview and using it in my first project .i have googled before about the pop window but all i end up into a mess.please help me .plesae..!!

thanking you ,

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(4,693 Views)

Create a subvi and set the window to 'open front panel when called' and 'close afterwards if originally closed' in the VI properties under 'window appearance' (or use the front panel open / front panel close methods inside your subvi). You will need to use the event structure to detect when someone has clicked the OK button to then add the item to the list. You will probably want a cancel button which just closes the window as well 🙂

You can also turn off scrollbars/menus etc. and set the window to floating/modal to make it look more like a popup dialogue.

LabVIEW Champion, CLA, CLED, CTD
(blog)
Message 2 of 6
(4,668 Views)

hello sam