LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how do i update a Vi created using a template

Hi All

I am new to Labview hence need  some help. I am trying to develop an application which reads some data from a Wireless Sensor Network (WSN). The WSN consists of base station connected to the USB port which recieves data from other sensor nodes.  The data comes in a certain format.  Node name, temperature reading, humidity reading etc. I want to read the data from the serial port and  based on the Node name, i want to display the information for each node in a listbox connected to a subpanel . Therefor allowing the user to access the different nodes using a listbox. So if a new node is detected then a new vi is created for that node and  added to the listbox and displayed in the subpanel. Or the user can acces the different nodes available by scrolling throught the listbox.

Since all the nodes have the same sensors on board i have decided to use a single . I can read the data using the serial port, parse the data to detect which node it is and also what the sensor readings are. I have created a template VI for the sensor node. and can create multiple subvi using the template.

The problem i am having is how to update the instances created using the template.  Each instance of the template should have a unique number, how can i acces this number. Also how to keep the listbox updated. I Would be greatful if someone could help to solve this problem either by suggesting a new way of doing this or by pointing out what i could do to solve this problem.

Raza

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(3,122 Views)

uraza2001 wrote:

Hi All