LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how can i control a Yaskawa V1000 variable frequency drive with labview?

I am quite new to labview and am in need of a way to control the RPM of a water pump using a 1hp AC motor.  Currently, I have it hooked up to a Yaskawa V1000 drive (the manual can be found here: http://yaskawa.com/site/dmdrive.nsf/(DocID)/MHAL-7JSLMA/$File/SIEPC71060618.pdf) but would like to interface the frequency control to my computer so that I don't have to do it on the drive anymore.  

Would anyone know of an easy way to do this with a pre-made driver or would I have to program it from scratch using the serial commands given in the manual?

Thanks,

Tei 

Message Edited by avtr on 10-15-2009 07:10 PM
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(13,194 Views)

Hi Tei,

Your best bet for instrument drivers would be here: ni.com/idnet

However, I could not find any there for any Yaskawa products, nor could I find any online anywhere else.  You may just have to do the serial programming using those VISA VI's. 

Regards, 

Marti C
Applications Engineer
National Instruments
NI Medical
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(13,170 Views)

Thanks Chancenator.  I'll check that out and bad to worse try to program it manually. 

Thanks,

Tei

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(13,162 Views)

Taking a quick look at the manual online it appears that this drive controller is communicated with using MODBUS over a RS485 serial link. There are a number of companies that make RS485 to USB serial adapters, EasySync ES-U-3001-M being one that I have used. There is a MODBUS Library of LabVIEW vi's that provides the Modbus functionality. You will be able to select the comm port that is created when the RS485 adapter is installed in these Modbus vi's.

Message Edited by LV_Pro on 10-17-2009 08:51 PM
Putnam
Certified LabVIEW Developer

Senior Test Engineer North Shore Technology, Inc.
Currently using LV 2012-LabVIEW 2018, RT8.5

LabVIEW Champion

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 10