From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

hold button input through multiple events

Solved!
Go to solution

I am fairly new to LabView and have a traffic light project I need to do. Everything seems to work but I can't get my crosswalk buttons to work unless they are pressed during a certain event. I have tried using a feedback node and a shift register but neither one is giving me the desired results. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 17
(3,336 Views)

Ouch! Try to do ity without a single local varaible or sequence structure! You can shrink your code to 10% of the complexity it has now!

Maybe you want to use a different mechanical action for the buttons.

(Note also that you have coercion dots on the state enum, meaning that not all are the same. Don't talk about events if you don't even use an event structure. Try to wire left-to-right and not all over the place.)

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 17
(3,330 Views)

As Altenbach said, and you should look at an event structure. They can handle multiple controls in one event and get rid of the boolean as well.

Glad to answer questions. Thanks for any KUDOS or marked solutions 😉
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 17
(3,316 Views)

This is my first time using LabView and this project is due tomorrow. I have spent weeks trying to get this to work and I don't have time to try to start from scratch. I've tried using different mechanical actions for my buttons without any luck. I'm not sure what you mean about coercion dots? I thought I was using an events structure.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 17
(3,313 Views)

No event structure anywhere! You are mixing two different enums, each with different items as state variable. That's a really bad idea. Use one enum that contains all states.